Kind of a sad story this chilly Tuesday morning.
It's barely 7 am and a young man (I know this is anti-stereotypical profiling), about 25 -30yrs, good looking, not shabbily dressed, and carrying a half (opened) wine bottle attempts to board the bus. He was obviously drunk.
The bus driver, rightly, refused him service as long as he had open liquor. Kudos to the bus driver.
The first sad segment of this story is obviously the young man:
· Drunk at 7 am on a Tuesday (not that any other day of the week would be better).
· Wouldn't toss the wine and get a ride home.
· He wasn't a belligerent drunk, just sad sounding.
The second sad, and the more disappointing, segment is the other passengers on the bus. Two women - who were no spring chickens - sat laughing at this scene. I couldn't disguise my distaste for their behaviour. This young man is obviously not in a good place and they are enjoying his despair.
I know we have all become accustomed in this city to expect the “losers” of this world to be getting on the bus drunk in the North End or Downtown but “NOT IN OUR NEIGHBORHOOD”. This young man is no different from the homeless addicts downtown in that he has a problem. It’s certainly not normal for anyone of any race or social status to be drunk at this time of day and carrying an open liquor bottle around on the street. I couldn’t help wondering what circumstance would have prompted his intoxication this morning. Not unlike the unwanted homeless, it could have been depression or any number of mental illnesses, a time of acute distress, or an out of control addiction. Either way, it’s really just geography that sets him apart from the “downtown” drunks and we don’t openly laugh at them. I guess the worst part about the whole thing is that like the other drunks, we didn’t offer help to this young man either.
Jenga
